So it looks like I'm done with BF4.

Im_all_outa_love

Registered User
Joined
Apr 14, 2014
Messages
109
Likes
74
Age
50
Long story short is that my family and I have moved. Although the move was too a much bigger house on 4.3 acres out in the country, the only internet service available here is AT&T DSL, which is pitiful compared to the cable internet I had before. The ping and lag issues associated with this shitty internet will prevent me from playing BF4 or any other multi player game.

The sad news is that Cable internet is available less than a mile from my house in one direction, and AT&T U-Verse is available a mile in the other direction so I'm just screwed. Neither company has any plans to expand to where I am just to pick up another 15 or so houses.

So this is so long for now, maybe in the next year or two one of the mentioned companies will expand to where I am. Good luck and happy gaming..............
 
Joined
May 30, 2014
Messages
1,188
Likes
524
You know... If you call and complain to ATT they will fix it. I had bad issues at my previous house when I had their DSL. They ran all new CAT5 for my DSL and did some repairs at the hub down my street and it was a night/day difference. Now I have ATT Fiber (UVerse) and it's awesome.
 

bot102

Registered User
Joined
Jun 27, 2012
Messages
746
Likes
381
Age
24
Well, all I know is in "Special" instances, @x=FAST=x will make exceptions to the ping kicker if it is only spikes and you are a dedicated enough member to the community.

That or we need to get a working party together and go lay some cable, isn't that right Sgt... @Lobo ...
 

1968USMC

Registered User
Donator
Joined
Jul 25, 2015
Messages
970
Likes
493
Age
68
I feel your pain. I have the same "rural" issues. Only 1 isp and they care less. They got 18 million from tax payers to run fiber and shit on me they stopped 1 mile from my location. When ask they say it will be years before they start back up to finish this area. Crazy shit just crazy shit.
I see your from TN LOL so am I go firgure
 
Last edited:

Snakebabies

Admin
Admin
Donator
Joined
Sep 2, 2012
Messages
6,958
Likes
2,338
Age
35
@Im_all_outa_love I unfortunately got shafted and stuck with ATT Uverse. I pay for like 45dl/3-5ul, and is more than my previous ISP (which was 75dl/5-10ul). Though I will say that no matter how many devices in my household are streaming/surfing/downloading, I manage to have enough bandwidth to stay around 20-25dl. I hope you remedy your current ISP troubles so that you can continue to blow people up in TBG servers :)!
 

Im_all_outa_love

Registered User
Joined
Apr 14, 2014
Messages
109
Likes
74
Age
50
I feel your pain. I have the same "rural" issues. Only 1 isp and they care less. They got 18 million from tax payers to run fiber and shit on me they stopped 1 mile from my location. When ask they say it will be years before they start back up to finish this area. Crazy shit just crazy shit.
I see your from TN LOL so am I go firgure
I'm just outside of Memphis, near Millington TN. Comcast can't service this area because of Millington Cable and they stop about a mile from my house. Having Comcast Cable internet has spoiled me, it always worked and everyone in the house could stream youtube or netflix and I could still play BF4 with no problems, now if anyone even looks like they want to stream something it goes to shit. I'm going to play around with the settings and see if I can at least get a stable enough ping to play but I'm not expecting much.
 
Joined
May 30, 2014
Messages
1,188
Likes
524
As I stated before, If you're having issues with it, Call ATT. They WILL fix it for free and you can refuse to pay your bill until the services you pay for are delivered. They're actually a good company in my experience when it comes to stuff like that. Request a tech to come out and do a line test and try and be home when he comes. When hes there, explain to HIM the issues you're having and depending on how old/new your house/apartment is, request that they run new CAT5 for your modem. Also make sure they check your connection at the hub.
 
Last edited:

amarua

Registered User
Joined
Mar 20, 2015
Messages
259
Likes
165
Age
40
Damn telecommunications monopolies!!!!! Raking in the kash from both customers and govt and they still provide inadequate service. What happen to the promise of getting all America connected. What a joke! Well I'm sorry I'm all out love but you will be missed until your issues get resolved. All i can say is keep calling ATT and complain like Chocolate ch3rry said. I did and they also ran new cable and cat 5 throughout the house. they even upgraded my service for free for a year. Although they did damaged in the process to the drywall i got them to pay for replacing it but that's another story. Demand your rights as a consumer!!!!!! Hopefully we will see you back in the servers soon. Don't feel bad I sometimes get kicked for high ping also due to ATT's shitty routers and neighborhood boxes getting hit by vehicles. lol ! Anyways keep trying.
 

thenamesgart

Registered User
Joined
Mar 2, 2015
Messages
94
Likes
35
Call support and have a tech come out and take readings from the "drop" then from inside the house(to see if internal wiring could be an issue). Also have him check for bridge taps on the line from dslam to the house. Based on distance from dslam to your house can also cause stability issues with the connection which can be corrected by dropping bandwith profile (not the same as internet package). You can request from att home repair tech that he have a "line tech" come out and inspect lines from dslam to house (ive seen many ppl have connection issues due to the age of their lines being over 20 years old). Just a heads up tho, if its deemed that the cause to ur issue is internal wiring, they will charge for that to be repaired. Total process time for home tech and line tech to come out might be over 1 1/2 weeks. Good luck and dont give up hope, all issues can be resolved. Used to be Former AT&T U-verse Tier II Support rep. knows all about dsl, uverse, and uverse fttp with knowledge about everything from back end to residence. feel free to ask any questions.
 

HomebrewerCraig

Registered User
Joined
Feb 8, 2015
Messages
1,330
Likes
805
I have a tech scheduled to come back out, I"m having major ping issues, it will go from mid 30's to 200 to 350 then back down to 200's then I will get kicked for ping. We will see what happens.
Don't forget that you can now file a complaint with the FCC about your ISP if things are not resolved to your satisfaction. Thank you Net Neutrality rules!

https://consumercomplaints.fcc.gov/hc/en-us
 

Outfield1988

Registered User
Joined
Apr 15, 2015
Messages
85
Likes
18
Age
56
Long story short is that my family and I have moved. Although the move was too a much bigger house on 4.3 acres out in the country, the only internet service available here is AT&T DSL, which is pitiful compared to the cable internet I had before. The ping and lag issues associated with this shitty internet will prevent me from playing BF4 or any other multi player game.

The sad news is that Cable internet is available less than a mile from my house in one direction, and AT&T U-Verse is available a mile in the other direction so I'm just screwed. Neither company has any plans to expand to where I am just to pick up another 15 or so houses.

So this is so long for now, maybe in the next year or two one of the mentioned companies will expand to where I am. Good luck and happy gaming..............
Yeah I moved to a area where I have been down graded from 40mbs to 7 mbps century link but it seems I can still play. Feel your pain brother.
 
Top